logo
 Home chinese
 Site mapDownload
Archives Origin
History
Archives Reviews
Papermaking Principles
*

*Taiwan Chung Hsing Paper Corporation> Papermaking Principles> Evolution of Papermaking Technology

Evolution of Papermaking Technology
Print
*
Pioneer in Papermaking Improvement
*

  The earliest paper in the world, the Fang-ma-tan paper (Lop Nor paper) was the very first excavated paper in China. It was found among the relics from the Feng-sui-ting Han Dynasty ruins at Lop Nor in Xinjiang in 1933. It proved that papermaking techniques already existed in early West Han Dynasty (around 49BC.)

  Although Cai Lun (63-121AD) of the East Han period is said to be the inventor of paper, he was actually just a key player in improvement of papermaking techniques. Papermaking is referred to as one of the four great inventions in ancient China, yet private individuals had already used plant fibers to make paper two centuries before Cai Lun. The product made from hemp or bulrush was too coarse to write on and what Cai Lun achieved made him a pioneer in improvement of papermaking.(Note 1 )

Commencement of the Paper Era
*   During the period of Wei, Jin, and North and South Dynasties, better raw materials for papermaking were developed and both the quality and quantity of paper as well as manufacturing techniques and tools were improved continuously. This allowed paper to become a major commodity in cultural and daily life. Therefore, it is appropriate to say the paper era commenced in the two Jin and Six Dynasties.
Emergence of New Raw Materials and Dyeing Techniques
*

   According to historical records, the famed calligrapher Xiao Cheng of Tang Dynasty started to make colored striped paper by steeping and removing the gelatin of wild hemp and steaming it with potash to produce the natural dye. Later on, processed paper was developed and rice paper, white linen paper, etc. also became available one after another. Patterning and dyeing techniques also began to mature soon afterwards.(Note 2 )

 
Note:
*Note 1:
During the early period of the reign of Zhang Emperor of Han Dynasty, Cai Lun was a xiao-huang-men (a low ranking eunuch.) When the He Emperor took the throne, he was promoted to the position of zhong-chang-shi and had the opportunity to partake in planning of national policies. He was talented and well versed, as well as loyal to the country and his job. Many times he risked the danger of offending the emperor by pointing out certain wrongdoings in the court’s administration. Later on, he was made shang-fang-ling to be in charge of production of court objects. It is generally believed that this was the time when he started to have contact with the best craftsmanship of East Han and thus had the opportunity to improve the papermaking techniques at the time.
*Note 2:
Xiao Cheng (dates of birth and death unavailable) was from Lanling (present day Lanling Town of Cangshan County in Shandong Province.) The celebrated calligrapher was also an expert in making striped paper. He was talented, good at writing, and a serious intellectual in the feudal society. He was particular and strict about his wording but quick at reasoning at the same time. With artistic talents across the board, he made remarkable achievements in Chinese calligraphy and held high regard for the practical and aesthetic value of calligraphy.
 
‧This Page Last Update :  ‧Visitors counter : 000146
Previous
*
*
National Archives Administration
Taiwan e-Learning and Digital Archives Program Last Update:98.05.13 Total Visitors:84184 
Today Visitors:9 Yesterday Visitors:12
|Privacy Policy| Copyright © 2009 National Archives Administration

回首頁English
臺灣產業經濟檔案主題館 網站地圖 好康下載 3D廠舍樣貌 珍貴檔案瀏覽館
檔案來源
走過風華
檔案回顧
舊影重現
造紙原理
檔案賞析
*

*台灣中興紙業公司> 造紙原理> 造紙技術演進

造紙技術演進
  友善列印
*
造紙改良先驅
*

  世界上最早的紙〝放馬灘紙〞(羅布淖爾紙)中國第一次出土的古紙實物,這片紙是西元1933年在新疆羅布淖爾漢代的烽燧亭遺址出土文物中所發現,它的出土証明了西漢初期(約西元前49年)已經有造紙的技術發生。。

雖然相傳造紙術是由中國東漢時代的蔡倫(西元63-121年)所發明,但蔡倫其實只是改進造紙術的重要關鍵者。造紙術被稱為中國古代四大發明之一,其實早在蔡倫之前二百年,民間早已開始流傳利用植物纖維來造紙,但是因為當時用麻或苧麻為原料,紙的質地十分粗糙,還無法用於書寫,而蔡倫剛好成為中國史上造紙術改良之先驅者。(註一)

紙時代的開始:
*   魏晉南北朝,由於在造紙原料上有進一步開發,紙的質與量和製作技術與工具也不斷改良,於是使得紙張在文化和日常生活上的應用漸漸成為主流,因此兩晉六朝可說是紙張時代的真正開始。
造紙新原料與染色技術出現
*

   據史書記載,唐代著名書法家蕭誠製作的五色斑紋紙即開始利用野生麻纖維,經過漚製和脫膠的工序,再用草木灰蒸煮而產生了天然染劑。爾後加工紙陸續發展的結果,也陸續出現了宣紙、白麻紙等多種紙張;印花、染色的技術也在那之後相繼出現。 (註二)

 
備註:
*註一:
蔡倫在漢章帝建年初間,擔任小黃門(為較低品級的太監職位)。而到漢和帝繼位之後,升任為中常侍,並開始參與國家機密大事的謀劃。蔡倫有真才實學,為國盡忠職守,更多次不惜觸犯皇帝的威嚴進諫指出朝廷施政的得失。後來,蔡倫擔任尚方令負責監督宮廷物品的製作。人們認為就是從這個時候,蔡倫開始接觸東漢最好的手工工藝,並有了機會改進當時的造紙技術。
*註二:
蕭誠(生卒年不詳),蘭陵(今山東蒼山縣蘭陵鎮)人。他是唐代著名的書法家;同時,他還是一個善於製造斑紋紙的專家。不但多才多藝,擅文墨,而且是一個很認真的封建文人。 他所為詞翰,十分講究,一絲不苟,更善於推敲,思慧敏捷,是一個全面性的藝術人才。在書法藝術方面,造詣尤深,十分重視書法藝術的實用價值和審美價值。
 
‧本頁最新日期 :  ‧點閱人數 : 000029人次
回上一頁
右側形象圖
*
檔案管理局
 最後更新:98.06.08 瀏覽總數:363521 今日人數:19 昨日人數:30
隱私權政策宣告 檔案管理局 版權所有